Oncor free weatherization program income limits for 2026
The Oncor free weatherization program pays a contractor to seal and insulate a low income home in Texas, cutting what a household spends heating and cooling it. Oncor, the regulated utility serving most of north and west Texas, runs the program as the Low Income Weatherization Standard Offer Program, an obligation Texas law places on investor owned utilities rather than a federally funded effort like most other states run. The Oncor free weatherization program income limits are the first thing to check before applying, but the status matters just as much. The Oncor program page states that funding for 2026 has been fully exhausted due to high demand, and tells applicants to check back in January 2027. That describes the 2026 program year only, since the same page ties it to demand this year and expects the program to reopen.
Income limits by household size
For February 1, 2026 through January 31, 2027, Oncor sets an annual household income ceiling of 31,920 dollars for a single person, calculated at 200% of the federal poverty guidelines, according to the Oncor program page. A household of 4 has a higher ceiling, 66,000 dollars, and each additional member adds 11,360 dollars. Applying that same increment to the 1 person figure fills in a ceiling of 43,280 dollars for 2 people and 54,640 dollars for 3 people, an arithmetic this site performed since the source states only the 1 and 4 person figures directly.
The 2 person and 3 person ceilings are not stated directly on the Oncor program page. This site applied the stated 11,360 dollar per member increment to the stated 1 person and 4 person figures to fill them in.
Show the numbers
| 1 person | 31,920 |
| 2 people | 43,280 |
| 3 people | 54,640 |
| 4 people | 66,000 |
How Oncor pays for the work
Oncor does not pay a homeowner directly. It pays an incentive to an approved service provider, who passes the money to the customer, according to the Oncor residential provider page. Quick Electricity, an independent electricity plan comparison business not affiliated with Oncor, reports Oncor allocated approximately 3,000,000 dollars for weatherization and approximately 500,000 dollars for HVAC upgrades for 2026, a combined 3,500,000 dollars. Neither Oncor page read for this article states a dollar budget, so that figure is reporting from Quick Electricity, not a number Oncor itself has published.
Figures are reported by Quick Electricity, not stated on either Oncor page read for this article. The weatherization budget is about 6 times the HVAC budget, a comparison this site performed since the source states the 2 amounts separately.
Show the numbers
| Weatherization | 3,000,000 |
| HVAC | 500,000 |
What the work covers and who qualifies
Quick Electricity reports the insulation incentive rate paid to a service provider changes with the heating a home already has, ranging from 0.65 dollars a square foot for electric resistance heat down to 0.30 dollars a square foot for gas fired heat, each requiring insulation rated R38 or better. Perkins Inc, a contractor approved to deliver the program in the Dallas Fort Worth area, states the work includes sealing and weather stripping windows, doors and attic access, gaskets on outlets and switches, sealing plumbing and vent penetrations, and duct sealing, taking up to 6 hours per home. Any Oncor customer at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines qualifies, though Perkins Inc describes an all electric home as served at no cost and a home with gas service at reduced cost.
Rates apply only when insulation is upgraded to a rating of R38 or better, as reported by Quick Electricity, not stated on either Oncor page read for this article.
Show the numbers
| Electric resistance heat | 0.65 |
| Electric heat pump | 0.40 |
| Gas fired heat | 0.30 |
When to apply next
Quick Electricity states the 2026 window opened in January 2026 and was set to close November 15, 2026 for a single family home or October 31, 2026 for a multifamily building, though the Oncor program page shows the money ran out first. Whole Home Dallas, an approved provider, states the program typically runs January to November or until funds are depleted, independently confirming the 200% income rule. A resident can reach Oncor by phone at 866 728 3674, a number separate from the one Oncor lists for its approved service providers.